PM Modi targets Samajwadi party and links cycle election symbol to serial blasts in Ahmedabad

New Delhi: Linking the “cycle” of the Samajwadi party’s election symbol to the serial bombings in Ahmedabad in 2008, Prime Minister Narendra Modi said on Sunday that some parties sympathize with terrorists.

“They had kept the bomb on the cycle. They had parked the bicycle where people were selling vegetables… The explosions took place on the bicycle. I am surprised why they chose the cycle,” Prime Minister Modi said.

“We must always be vigilant of such people, such political parties,” he added while addressing the “Vishal Jan Sabha” in Hardoi of Uttar Pradesh.

Continuing his rant, Prime Minister Modi said that “these people are also putting the country on the line for their selfishness for the chair”.

“They are also playing with the security of the country,” he added.

Prime Minister Modi said he had been silent for so many years because the trial in the Ahmedabad blast case was ongoing.

“Today as the court convicted the terrorists, I am now raising the matter before the country. And today I will also commend the Gujarat Police for their efforts in eliminating many modules of terrorists,” a- he added.

Attacking the rivals, Prime Minister Modi said the people of Hardoi had seen how these people, when in power, gave carte blanche to those who used “katta” (guns).

Prime Minister Modi said these “parivarvadis” are now “spreading venom in the name of the caste”.

“These people are fighting with their own family for a chair. The dual engine government you voted for does not belong to any family, and the Center government does not belong to any family,” Prime Minister Modi said.

“Our government is for the poor, the farmers and the youth,” he added.

Addressing voters, Prime Minister Modi said: “Your enthusiasm and enthusiasm are a blessing to us all. We all know the association of the holy festival of Holi with the divine land of Hardoi. I know this time Hardoi and UP people prepared to play colorful Holi festival twice”

“The first Holi will be celebrated on March 10 with the resounding victory of the BJP. But if Holi is to be celebrated with great fanfare on March 10, then preparations will have to be made in the voting booths now,” he added.

Prime Minister Modi has said that the people are voting for the BJP in the ongoing third phase of assembly elections.

“Votes are also being cast in Punjab today with UP. People are voting in large numbers for the development and security of Punjab and the integrity of the country. They support the BJP,” Prime Minister Modi said.

“You also took responsibility for the next phases of the UP elections. Those playing appeasement politics and shutting down our festivals will have the response from the UP people on March 10,” he added.

Prime Minister Modi said the thugs roamed freely in Uttar Pradesh five years ago, adding that people in the state were petrified because of it.

Continuing his rant, Prime Minister Modi said that only 34,000 toilets were built for the poor under previous regimes.

“But after Yogi ji came, 5,000,000 toilets were built…Where did the money go (for building toilets)?” He asked.

“Those who then kept your homes dark, only lighting their homes, now make false promises to you. Remember, how many hours a day did your villages have electricity during their time , how many hours a week do you have electricity?” He asked.

Meanwhile, polling for the third phase of assembly elections is progressing smoothly in Uttar Pradesh. The participation rate until 1 p.m. was 35.88%.

Polling will be held until 6 p.m. in all 59 constituencies spread over 16 districts, including Hathras, Kanshiram Nagar (Kasganj), Etah, Mainpuri, Firozabad, Farrukhabad, Kannauj, Etawah, Auraiya, Kanpur Dehat, Kanpur Nagar, Jalaun, Hamirpur. , Mahoba, Jhansi and Lalitpur, going to the polls.

There are 627 candidates, including 97 women in the scrum, for 59 seats included in this phase.

In the 2017 assembly elections, the BJP won 49 out of 59 seats at the polls in the third phase, while the Samajwadi party won eight seats and the Congress and BSP won one seat each.

The total number of eligible voters for this phase is 2.16 crore, including 1.16 crore male, 99.90 lakh female and 1,060 third gender voters.

A total of 25,794 polling stations were set up in the affected constituencies for their convenience.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has formed an alliance with Anupriya Patel’s Apna Dal (Sonelal) and the NISHAD party led by Sanjay Nishad.

The Samajwadi party has an alliance with the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD), the Pragatisheel Samajwadi (Lohia) party of Shivpal Yadav, the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj party led by Om Prakash Rajbhar, the Janvadi (socialist) party and Apna Dal (Kamerawadi) directed by Krishna Patel and Mahan Dal.

The Trinamool Congress announced its support for the Samajwadi party, but decided not to present its candidates to the polls.

The Congress and the Bahujan Samaj party have announced that they will stand for the next elections without any alliance.

Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has formed an alliance with the Jan Adhikar party of Babu Singh Kushwaha and Bharat Mukti Morcha.

Bhim army chief Chandrashekhar Azad’s Azad Samaj party has also entered into an alliance with more than 30 regional parties.

The Janta Dal (Uni) is independently challenging the polls in the state.

Voting for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly, which has 403 members, takes place in seven phases from February 10 to March 7.

The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

James V. Hayes