ARPA State Fiscal Stimulus Fund Allocations

Updated regularly

Additions or corrections: This is a working document. Please contact Emily Maher and Leo Garcia if you know of any additional information that should be reflected in the database or any errors that should be corrected.

President Joe Biden signed the $1.9 trillion American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA), the latest federal stimulus bill to help public health and economic recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic, March 11, 2021 The plan included $350 billion in emergency funding for state, local, territorial and tribal governments, known as the Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal Recovery Funds.

State governments and the District of Columbia will receive $195.3 billion of the state’s share of stimulus funds over two disbursements. The territories will receive a total of $4.5 billion in one payment. Recipients must commit the funds by December 31, 2024 and spend them by December 31, 2026.


The information in this database has been collected through legislation and executive orders. Where appropriate, press releases and news articles have been used to complete details on the specific use of funds. This database does not include proposals.

Below is an explanation of the Authority filter.


Spending authority over the CSFRF varies by state. Authority is largely determined by each state’s interpretation of its constitutional and statutory provisions describing authority over contingency federal funds and authority to spend during a state of emergency. Some laws supersede others.

In this database, “Authority” refers to the entity that allocates funds (ie, law or decree).

James V. Hayes